Bain Capital.
A clean four-for-four exit record since 2008, Genpact, Axis Bank, L&T Finance and Emcure, all sold down in full and disclosed, has funded a pivot into control buyouts of two Indian NBFCs bought within three years of each other; the RBI now says Bain can only keep one.
GW GP Score
Bain Capital's India private-equity book has spent thirteen years proving it can exit: Genpact (2012 entry, $1bn for 30%, exited 2019 after an operational rebuild Bain's own case study credits with the return), Axis Bank (Nov 2017, ₹6,854 Cr anchor investment, sold down across four tranches to a full exit at $429M in Apr 2024), L&T Finance Holdings (Sep 2015, ~₹1,310 Cr for 10.2%, fully exited Jun 2024) and Emcure Pharmaceuticals (Dec 2013, 13% bought from Blackstone, IPO'd Jul 2024 and fully exited by Jun 2026). Every one of the four is cash-settled with a disclosed entry and exit price, the strongest and cleanest realisation record GW has found on the India PE desk to date. What's untested is the strategy Bain is now running with that cash: control, not minority. It bought 90% of Adani Capital and Adani Housing Finance in Jul 2023 (rebranded Tyger Capital, 93% held), and in Mar 2025 agreed to take joint control of Manappuram Finance, India's second-largest gold financier, for up to 41.7% fully diluted. Both are NBFCs, and the RBI's conditional 13 Feb 2026 approval of the Manappuram deal requires Bain to divest control of one of them, a single-category concentration rule Bain ran into after signing the second deal rather than before. Bain's Special Situations arm says it has no current plan to sell Tyger; how that resolves determines whether the desk's next chapter looks like its first, or gets stuck in regulatory limbo. Alongside the NBFC bet, Bain holds a reducing stake in 360 One WAM (18.21% as of Jul 2025, down from 24.98% at the 2022 entry) and a co-investment in healthcare-IT platform CitiusTech (>30%, alongside EQT since Oct 2022) that is itself now exposed to EQT's own process to sell its 40% stake to a new owner Bain did not choose.
Re-up candidate: the realised-cash evidence is doing more work than the brand story.
Portfolio quality depends on a narrow theme; the right comp is concentration risk, not headline unicorn count.
No named analyst override yet; current view is generated from the scored dossier and should be refreshed when the next primary source lands.
Tyger Capital divestment: whether Bain's Special Situations arm sells down its 93% control stake, and on what timeline, to satisfy the RBI's Feb 2026 condition on the Manappuram approval.
Manappuram Finance open offer final subscription and Bain's settled fully-diluted stake (18%-41.7% range); the remaining ₹1,644 Cr of warrant capital due over the next 4-18 months from Mar 2026.
RBI's 13 Feb 2026 conditional approval of the Manappuram deal requires Bain to give up control of Tyger Capital; Bain's Special Situations arm says it has no current plan to sell, which leaves the Manappuram open offer's ultimate stake size, and the regulator's tolerance for the delay, unresolved as of Sep 2026.
Computed from current dossier sources; analyst override pending.
Scored on the cohort's best-in-class realisation record (four dated, cash-settled exits) set against a live book whose control-buyout thesis is unproven and whose two most-scrutinised positions, Tyger Capital and CitiusTech, both carry unresolved, Bain-doesn't-control-the-outcome process risk: 0.25×74 + 0.30×86 + 0.15×63 + 0.15×70 + 0.15×79 = 76.
Graded underPrivate equity rubric v1.0→A control-or-joint-control book (Tyger 93%, Manappuram to 41.7%) plus one co-owned healthcare-IT stake (CitiusTech) and one reducing wealth-management minority (360 One); earnings quality is real but Tyger sits under a regulatory cloud
Four full-cycle, cash-settled exits since 2008 (Genpact, Axis Bank, L&T Finance, Emcure), each with disclosed entry and exit prices and a multi-stage sell-down, the cleanest record GW has found in this cohort
Genpact shows genuine operating value creation (US re-headquartering, 11 bolt-ons); Axis Bank and L&T Finance were minority stakes that rode a listed-financials re-rating more than an operational turnaround Bain drove
Asia Fund VI closed at $10.5bn (May 2026) and India deployment is set to accelerate 4-5x (~$2bn since 2008 vs a $7-10bn 2024-29 target), but signing the Manappuram control deal without first resolving the Tyger overlap is a discipline lapse the RBI caught
Amit Chandra (2008) and Pavninder Singh (2001) give the desk unusually long tenure at the top; Utsav Baijal's 2025 hire as Head of Special Situations, India adds bench depth though it followed a leadership change in that seat
Asset quality & control 25% · Exit realisation 30% · Value creation 15% · Capital discipline 15% · Franchise stability 15% — the five contributions above sum to 76. Raw scores compare within private equity; across cohorts compare the tier. See the full GP Score methodology · compare this firm →
Positive catalysts and/or re-up evidence exceed the visible risks, but the score should move only after the named proof lands.
Manappuram Finance open offer final subscription and Bain's settled fully-diluted stake (18%-41.7% range); the remaining ₹1,644 Cr of warrant capital due over the next 4-18 months from Mar 2026.
Manappuram Finance open offer final subscription and Bain's settled fully-diluted stake (18%-41.7% range); the remaining ₹1,644 Cr of warrant capital due over the next 4-18 months from Mar 2026.
Tyger Capital divestment: whether Bain's Special Situations arm sells down its 93% control stake, and on what timeline, to satisfy the RBI's Feb 2026 condition on the Manappuram approval.
Underwrite the realisation record, it is real, and treat the Tyger/Manappuram resolution as the single most important near-term catalyst on this book: watch whether Bain divests Tyger, gets a carve-out, or lets the Manappuram open offer stall.
RBI's 13 Feb 2026 conditional approval of the Manappuram deal requires Bain to give up control of Tyger Capital; Bain's Special Situations arm says it has no current plan to sell, which leaves the Manappuram open offer's ultimate stake size, and the regulator's tolerance for the delay, unresolved as of Sep 2026.
Tyger Capital divestment: whether Bain's Special Situations arm sells down its 93% control stake, and on what timeline, to satisfy the RBI's Feb 2026 condition on the Manappuram approval.
Coverage initiated: inaugural GW GP Score.
Catalyst exposure · latest source pressure
Recent public evidence mapped to this GP. Read this before reading the position table: it is where the score can move next.
Keep the file warm; current events cut both ways or are not yet material enough to move score.
Attribution0 positive catalyst(s), 0 pressure catalyst(s); top driver: monthly refresh only.
The funds
~$2bn deployed in India since the 2008 entry (Sarit Chopra, Bain Capital, Jun 2024); $7-10bn earmarked for 2024-29 (Bain Capital executives, Feb 2024) across 2 tracked vehicles.
| Vehicle | Vintage | Size | Stage | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bain Capital Asia Fund VI | 2026AI repricing | $10.5bn | Pan-Asia control + growth PE | Final close May 2026; the flagship vehicle behind the Manappuram Finance control investment (via BC Asia Investments XXV/XIV) |
| Bain Capital Special Situations — India | 2022–Correction onset | $300M+ earmarked (2022) | Structured/distressed credit & control | The desk behind the 2023 Adani Capital/Adani Housing Finance buyout (now Tyger Capital); now under an RBI order to divest that control stake |
Closest booksEQT (1 shared)computed · E
Fund analytics · LP underwriting screen
Computed from the public dossier: vehicle cadence, realised exits, mark drift, concentration and franchise stability. All computed signals are GW estimates.
Latest vehicle closed inside the current exit/repricing window.
2 visible exit events since Jul 2024.
Latest vehicle closed inside the current exit/repricing window.
1 up / 2 flat / 1 down tracked signals.
No senior departure flagged in key people.
1 up / 2 flat / 1 down
2 events since Jul 2024
Largest tracked active exposure
Higher spread = less balanced franchise
Marked overhang360 One WAM (formerly IIFL Wealth Management): names with negative 12-month mark or momentum signals in the reconstructed book.
Barbell market: AI premium vs everything else
Repricing began mid-deployment
At least one cited source is dated 2026.
5 visible events tracked.
4 representative positions tracked.
No departure signal structured.
Fund-level DPI/TVPI is usually not public; proxy remains estimated.
Peer median 3 · -1
Peer median 2 · -2
Peer median 89 · +1
Peer median 38 · -38
Peer median 0 · +0
Diligence agenda · how this view can change
The live research question, the proof required, and the source standard. This prevents a GP score from becoming a stale label.
Portfolio data, Team data evidence remains low-confidence despite a scored dossier.
Current · At least one cited source is dated 2026.
Upgrade the weak fields with dated facts before the next score action: Portfolio data, Team data.
Prioritise filings and firm disclosures; mark estimates as GW E until then.
Manappuram Finance open offer final subscription and Bain's settled fully-diluted stake (18%-41.7% range); the remaining ₹1,644 Cr of warrant capital due over the next 4-18 months from Mar 2026.
Tyger Capital divestment: whether Bain's Special Situations arm sells down its 93% control stake, and on what timeline, to satisfy the RBI's Feb 2026 condition on the Manappuram approval.
Evidence quality · source file health
How hard the public record is beneath this view: source mix, freshness, low-confidence fields and the next source action.
Low-confidence fields: Portfolio data, Team data.
34 total sources · 35% primary
At least one cited source is dated 2026.
Bain Capital: Asia Fund VI final close, $10.5bn (May 2026)
Upgrade Portfolio data evidence before changing the score.
Source tiering follows Gravitywell policy: primary = filing/regulator/company disclosure, secondary = reputable media or research, E = Gravitywell estimate. Evidence score is a GW control metric, not an external rating.
The position book
4 live India PE positions tracked below. The book has fully turned over once already: four cash-settled exits since 2008 (Genpact, Axis Bank, L&T Finance, Emcure) preceded the current control-buyout phase.
| Company | Sector | Entered | Entry stage | Status | 12-mo signal | Latest read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tyger Capital (formerly Adani Capital + Adani Housing Finance) | Fintech | 2023 | Control buyout, 90% / ₹1,440 Cr + $120M primary capital | Private | → | Renamed from Adani Capital, Jul 2024; AUM ~₹7,782 Cr (Dec 2025) vs ~₹6,737 Cr (Mar 2025); RBI's 13 Feb 2026 conditional Manappuram approval requires Bain to divest control here, which Bain's Special Situations arm says it has no current plan to do |
| Manappuram Finance | Fintech | 2025 | Joint control, 18% (up to 41.7% fully diluted) / ₹4,385 Cr | Public | ▲ | Agreed Mar 2025; RBI cleared 13 Feb 2026 conditional on the Tyger overlap; ₹2,740 Cr of the ₹4,385 Cr equity tranche funded Mar 2026; mandatory 26% open offer launched Apr 2026 at ₹248.29/share, final subscription not confirmed in public sources as of Sep 2026 |
| 360 One WAM (formerly IIFL Wealth Management) | Fintech | 2022 | Large minority, 24.98% / ~₹3,700 Cr | Public | ▼ | Reduced to 18.21% by Jul 2025 (sold 3.71% for ₹1,741 Cr); AUM+advisory ~₹5.21 trillion (2026); staged sell-down, not a full exit |
| CitiusTech | Healthcare | 2022 | Co-investment, >30% (with Bain Capital Credit) / undisclosed | Private | → | Joined majority owner BPEA EQT, Oct 2022; FY25 revenue $427.6M; EQT is now running a sale process for its own 40% (bids reported from CVC, Advent, Carlyle, Temasek, ~$1bn for that stake), which could hand Bain a new co-owner; sector forced to Healthcare over SaaS & Dev Tools given its healthcare-provider/life-sciences client base and RCM-adjacent business model |
Representative tracked positions reconstructed from public disclosures: not the full book. 12-mo signal is a GW estimate of mark direction from round/exit prints (E). Ownership stakes are not shown: not reliably public.
Sector exposure · where the book leans
Share of the tracked active book by normalized sector (GW estimate): read against our sector dossiers for crowding.
New cheques · 2025-26
Every rupee Bain has actually put to work in India over the past 18 months has gone into gold and NBFC control, not new-economy or healthcare growth equity: the Manappuram build (₹2,740 Cr funded of a possible ~₹10,000 Cr+ all-in commitment) and a further ₹225 Cr warrant conversion into Tyger Capital, even as the RBI's Feb 2026 order requires Bain to give up control of one of the two NBFCs it now runs. The desk reads this as underwriting the RBI-approval risk rather than resolving it.
RBI approval came 13 Feb 2026, conditional on resolving the Tyger Capital overlap
Remaining ₹1,644 Cr of warrant capital due over the next 4-18 months
₹248.29/share incl. interest; could take Bain's fully diluted stake to 41.7%
Continued capital into the position the RBI wants Bain to exit
Realisation · are LPs getting paid?
Four full-cycle exits since 2008, each with a disclosed entry price and a multi-stage, dated sell-down, is the cleanest realisation record GW has found on this desk: Axis Bank (2017-2024, staged into four separate block sales), L&T Finance (2015-2024), Emcure (2013-2026) and Genpact (2012-2019). None of the four is a partial mark; all are cash-settled. The pattern was a listed-minority strategy, buy a stake in an already-profitable, already-listed or soon-to-list business, hold through a cycle, sell into strength, not a control buyout playbook, until Tyger Capital (2023) and Manappuram (2025) arrived.
Final block (~1%, ₹612 Cr, 25 Jun 2026, though a nearby ₹350 Cr figure appears in some reports) completed the sell-down that began at IPO; total proceeds across 2024-26 not separately disclosed.
IPO OFS (10 Jul 2024, subscribed 67.8x) began the sell-down of a 13.07% pre-IPO stake bought for ~₹700 Cr (Dec 2013, secondary purchase from Blackstone).
Bain and BNP Paribas together sold their remaining combined 3.5% (8.82 Cr shares at ₹169.17), completing Bain's exit from the 10.2% stake bought for ~₹1,310 Cr in Sep 2015; more than half the position had already gone in Sep 2023.
Sold the residual stake (33.4M shares at ₹1,071) for $429M, completing a staged 2022-24 sell-down of the Nov 2017 anchor investment (₹6,854 Cr at ₹525/share).
Exited the Aug 2012 entry ($1bn for 30% at $14.76/share, bought from General Atlantic and Oak Hill Capital Partners) after a value-creation programme, US re-headquartering, 11 bolt-on acquisitions, that Bain's own case study credits with the return; one tranche alongside GIC sold 10M shares for ~$362M.
Genpact (2012-19), Axis Bank (2017-24), L&T Finance (2015-24), Emcure (2013-26): every dated minority position taken has been fully realised in cash
~2x, Nov 2017 entry to Apr 2024 full exit, on a ₹6,854 Cr anchor position
Sarit Chopra, Bain Capital, Jun 2024; against a newly stated $7-10bn target for 2024-29, a 4-5x acceleration
RBI's 13 Feb 2026 conditional approval of the Manappuram deal requires Bain to divest control of Tyger Capital; Bain states no current plan to do so
The realised numbers are genuinely strong and unusually clean for the cohort: four exits, four cash settlements, no partial marks masquerading as returns. What is untested is the new strategy. Tyger Capital, Manappuram and the co-owned CitiusTech stake are all held at cost as far as public disclosure goes, and two of the three carry live, unresolved process risk, the RBI-mandated Tyger divestment and EQT's parallel process to sell its own 40% of CitiusTech, that Bain does not fully control the outcome of. E.
What they're doing
Pivoted from disclosed-price, dated-exit minority stakes in already-listed financial names (Axis Bank, L&T Finance) to control and joint-control buyouts of NBFCs (Tyger Capital 93%, Manappuram up to 41.7%) since 2023, a bet that owning the balance sheet, not just the equity, is where the next return comes from.
Runs India deployment through two separate verticals with different mandates, the flagship Private Equity/Asia Fund line (Manappuram, CitiusTech, 360 One) and a dedicated Special Situations desk (Tyger Capital/Adani Capital), a structure that let it hold two competing NBFC control stakes simultaneously until the RBI flagged the conflict.
Systematic, staged sell-downs on every historic exit rather than one-shot block trades: Axis Bank alone took four separate tranches across 19 months (Oct 2022-Apr 2024) to fully monetise.
Financial-services concentration: three of four live positions (Tyger, Manappuram, 360 One) sit on the same NBFC/wealth-management regulatory perimeter that produced the Tyger/Manappuram conflict.
What can break
RBI's 13 Feb 2026 conditional approval of the Manappuram deal requires Bain to give up control of Tyger Capital; Bain's Special Situations arm says it has no current plan to sell, which leaves the Manappuram open offer's ultimate stake size, and the regulator's tolerance for the delay, unresolved as of Sep 2026.
EQT is running a sale process for its own 40% of CitiusTech (bids reported from CVC, Advent, Carlyle, Temasek, implying ~$1bn for that stake alone) that could hand Bain a new, unchosen co-owner in a company where Bain's own stake size and entry price were never disclosed.
The historic exit record (Axis Bank, L&T Finance) was built on minority stakes through an Indian financials bull market; none of it demonstrates Bain can execute the harder, control-buyout, operational-turnaround thesis it is now running at Tyger and Manappuram.
Manappuram's open offer (up to 26% more, ₹248.29/share) had zero shares tendered as of the mid-window check in Apr 2026 per public reporting; the final subscription level, and therefore Bain's settled ownership between 18% and 41.7%, was not confirmed in public sources as of this vintage.
Tyger Capital divestment: whether Bain's Special Situations arm sells down its 93% control stake, and on what timeline, to satisfy the RBI's Feb 2026 condition on the Manappuram approval.
Manappuram Finance open offer final subscription and Bain's settled fully-diluted stake (18%-41.7% range); the remaining ₹1,644 Cr of warrant capital due over the next 4-18 months from Mar 2026.
EQT's sale process for its 40% of CitiusTech: the winning bidder, and whether Bain exercises any co-sale or right-of-first-refusal terms not disclosed publicly.
360 One WAM: whether Bain continues reducing its 18.21% (Jul 2025) holding, its lowest since the 2022 entry.
Point-in-time discipline: these are the open items we could not verify at the current vintage. They get resolved: confirmed, corrected or dropped, at the next monthly refresh, never silently.
The takes · one screen, three readers
No other India PE franchise GW has scored has a cleaner four-for-four cash-exit record, each one dated, priced at entry and exit, and fully realised rather than partially marked. Asia Fund VI's $10.5bn close and a stated $7-10bn India target say Bain believes its next act, control buyouts of NBFCs, deserves that same capital.
Bain signed two competing NBFC control deals inside 20 months and only found out from the RBI that it could keep one. That is a live regulatory failure, not a hypothetical risk, and it is compounded by EQT's own process to sell its CitiusTech stake to a bidder Bain does not get to pick. The exit record proves Bain can time a minority sale into a bull market; it does not yet prove Bain can run a control buyout through a regulatory conflict of its own making.
Underwrite the realisation record, it is real, and treat the Tyger/Manappuram resolution as the single most important near-term catalyst on this book: watch whether Bain divests Tyger, gets a carve-out, or lets the Manappuram open offer stall.
Sourcing. Every figure is sourced and dated. We tier provenance: Primary (official, regulatory, exchange or company filings), Secondary (tier-1 industry research and reputable media), and GW estimate (our own reconstruction or opinion, labelled, never presented as external fact). We prefer primary where it exists, reconcile divergent prints to cited ranges, and hold every number point-in-time: dated, and never silently restated; revisions publish as dated changes.
Fact vs opinion. Facts vs opinion: market sizes, official prints, prices, named deals and agency ratings are sourced facts (Primary/Secondary). Scores, grades, purity weights, scenario paths and indicative sparkline points are Gravitywell's analytical opinion (GW estimate): labelled, not presented as external data.
GW GP Scores are research opinions, not investment advice, not a solicitation, and not an assessment under any SEBI regulation. Dossiers are compiled from public sources believed reliable; firms named did not participate and figures marked E are Gravitywell estimates. Point-in-time: dated to the vintage shown and never silently restated.